Antonsen Named 2022 IEEE Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award Recipient

Antonsen Named 2022 IEEE Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award Recipient

Antonsen Named 2022 IEEE Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award Recipient

Prof. Thomas Antonsen (ECE/IREAP/Physics) has been named recipient of the 2022 IEEE Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award for “seminal contributions in theoretical plasma physics and radiation science, and for the development of comprehensive design codes for vacuum electronics devices.” 

The Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award is given annually by the IEEE Board of Directors for outstanding contributions to the field of nuclear and plasma sciences and engineering. It is a  Technical Field Award that was established in 2008. Prof. Antonsen will receive a bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium.

Prof. Antonsen joined the University of Maryland faculty in 1984. He is a Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Physics. He served as acting director of the Institute for Research in Electronics and Applied Physics from 1998-2000. Prof. Antonsen was named a Distinguished University Professor by the University of Maryland in 2017. He is an IEEE Fellow and received the IEEE John R. Pierce Award for Excellence in Vacuum Electronics in 2016 and the IEEE Plasma Science and Applications Award in 2003.

For nearly a century, the IEEE Awards Program has paid tribute to technical professionals whose exceptional achievements and outstanding contributions have made a lasting impact on technology, society, and the engineering profession. Each year the IEEE Awards Board recommends a select group of recipients to receive IEEE's most prestigious honors.

Related Articles:
Alumnus David Bader Receives 2021 Sidney Fernbach Award
Somersaulting Photons
Liu Wins 2021 IEEE Fourier Award for Signal Processing
Professor Ott Elected as Foreign Member of the Academia Europaea
Alumnus David Bader Named Association for Computing Machinery Fellow
Alumnus Adly Appointed Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Magnetics
Ultra-Broadband Microcombs Opens Door to Opportunities for Optical Frequency Synthesis
ECE Alumni Veeraraghavan, Zheng Elected IEEE Fellows
Professor Espy-Wilson Named IEEE Fellow
Min Wu Elected President of IEEE Signal Processing Society

July 15, 2021

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

When Vision Fails, a Suit Could Steer Pilots to Safety

JC Zhao Named Dean of University of Connecticut College of Engineering

Celebrating Asian, Pacific Islander, and Desi American Engineers

Four BIOE Terps Awarded NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

Celebrating Asian Pacific Islander Desi American Heritage Month: Karenna Buco

UMD Student Awarded Wings Foundation Scholarship

Celebrating Asian Pacific Islander Desi American Heritage Month

Dean's Circle Spotlight: Investing in Ideas, and Access

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar