Alumnus David Bader Named Association for Computing Machinery Fellow

Alumnus David Bader Named Association for Computing Machinery Fellow

Alumnus David Bader Named Association for Computing Machinery Fellow

The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) named Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) alumnus David Bader (Ph.D. ’96) as one of 71 internationally selected members named 2021 ACM Fellows for their wide-ranging and fundamental contributions that run the spectrum of the computing field.

ACM selected Bader for his contributions to high-performance computing systems, graph analytics and technical leadership in parallel computing.

Bader is a Distinguished Professor and a founder of the Department of Data Science in the Ying Wu College of Computing and Director of the Institute for Data Science at New Jersey Institute of Technology. 

“Computing professionals have brought about leapfrog advances in how we live, work, and play,” said ACM President Gabriele Kotsis in the organization’s press release. “New technologies are the result of skillfully combining the individual contributions of numerous men and women, often building upon diverse contributions that have emerged over decades. But technological progress would not be possible without the essential building blocks of individual contributors. The ACM Fellows program honors the creativity and hard work of ACM members whose specific accomplishments make broader advances possible.”

In addition to being a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM), Bader has received numerous awards for his work. Most recently, these include the 2021 Sidney Fernbach Award, recognition in the 2021 ROI-NJ inaugural list of technology influencers, an NVIDIA AI Lab (NVAIL) award, and a Facebook Research AI Hardware/Software Co-Design award.

Bader also currently advises the White House on the National Strategic Computing Initiative (NSCI) and Future Advanced Computing Ecosystem (FACE).

During his time at Maryland, Bader was advised by ECE Interim Chair and Professor Joseph JaJa, and founded and served as president of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Graduate Student Association (ECEGSA). In 2012, he was also selected as an inaugural recipient of ECE’s Distinguished Alumni Award.

The ACM Fellows program recognizes the top 1% of ACM Members for their outstanding accomplishments in computing and information technology and/or outstanding service to ACM and the larger computing community. Fellows are nominated by their peers, with nominations reviewed by a distinguished selection committee.

Related Articles:
Alumnus David Bader Receives 2021 Sidney Fernbach Award
Alumnus Matthew Stamm Named to Popular Science’s Brilliant 10 of 2021 List
Alumnus Abhishek Motayed's Company, N5 Sensors, Named 'Startup of the Year' by UMD
Alumnus Dr. H. Neal Reynolds Named 2021 Health Care Heroes Physician of the Year
Donald H. Willis Inducted into Innovation Hall of Fame
ECE Alumni Veeraraghavan, Zheng Elected IEEE Fellows
Alumna Dana Wiggins’ Startup Seize Named to Techstars Seattle’s 13th Cohort
Terp Entrepreneur Lands a ‘Big Deal’
In Memoriam: John William Fritz (‘17, electrical engineering)
UMD Wins $5M Phase 2 NSF Convergence Accelerator Award

January 24, 2022

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

‘Flash Heating’ Technology Preserves Food at No Nutritional Cost

Replace Glue with Electricity; Obtain the Same Results

LEGOLAS participates at U.S. Senate Robotics Showcase on Capitol Hill

Key Bridge: What Comes Next?

CEEE Co-Director Vikrant Aute Honored With Faculty Award

Maryland Academy of Sciences Names Hannah Zierden Outstanding Young Engineer

Speedy, Secure, Sustainable—That’s the Future of Telecom

University of Maryland Has Strong Presence at ICRA 2024

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar