Ohadi Receives ASHRAE E.K. Campbell Award of Merit

Ohadi Receives ASHRAE E.K. Campbell Award of Merit

Ohadi Receives ASHRAE E.K. Campbell Award of Merit

Department of Mechanical Engineering Professor Michael Ohadi recently received the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) E.K. Campbell Award of Merit. The award recognizes one ASHRAE member every year for their outstanding service and achievement in teaching, and includes a plaque and $10,000 honorarium from the Society's Life Members Club.

Ohadi currently works on two projects funded by a $5 million award from the U.S. Energy Department’s Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy (ARPA-E) program to improve power plant cooling.

Leading the Novel Polymer Composite Heat Exchanger for Dry Cooling of Power Plants project, Ohadi and his team are improving power plant cooling technologies through the development and application of new composite heat exchangers that use a low-cost, high conductivity medium encapsulated in a polymeric material that is highly durable, low cost and has a high resistance to corrosion.

On the Novel Microemulsion Absorption Systems for Supplemental Power Plant Cooling project, he is serving as a co-principal investigator with Associate Professor Bao Yang. This project aims to developan absorption cooling systems for power plants utilizing a novel microemulsion liquid absorbent.

Ohadi received his Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota in 1986, and is a founding faculty member of the University of Maryland’s Center for Environmental Energy Engineering (CEEE) He is internationally recognized for his research in heat and mass transfer and smart energy systems, and he is the inventor/co-inventor of eight issued U.S. patents. In addition, he has published more than 150 refereed technical publications and has close to 20 years of industrial and academic experience in the areas of heat transfer, fluid flow, thermal energy conversion and electrohydrodynamics. Ohadi is also a member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and has won numerous awards from both ASME and ASHRAE.

ASHRAE will present Ohadi with the award during their 2015 Winter Conference in Orlando, Florida on January 23, 2016.


August 9, 2015

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

2020 Dean's Doctoral Student Research Awards

Mohammad Hafezi Wins 2020 Simons Foundation Investigator Award

Legacy through Impact: Dr. Darryll J. Pines

UMD Team Takes a Top Spot in NASA RASC-AL Design Competition

Rapidly evolving ‘smart marble’ sensors hold promise for monitoring pharmaceutical industry bioreactors and beyond

Assistant Professor Cheng Gong Wins IUPAP Young Scientist Award

Maryland-led, Multi-institutional Research Team Receives $10M to Transform Shellfish Farming with Smart Technology

GAMMA Research Group is Developing Novel COVID-19 Prevention Robots

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar