ASME Honors Alum, Nanoelectronics Expert

ASME Honors Alum, Nanoelectronics Expert

ASME Honors Alum, Nanoelectronics Expert

Pradeep Sharma (Ph.D. '00, mechanical engineering)
Pradeep Sharma (Ph.D. '00, mechanical engineering)

Pradeep Sharma, a Clark School mechanical engineering graduate (Ph.D. '00), has been has been selected as the recipient of the 2009 Thomas J.R. Hughes Young Investigator Award by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). Sharma is an associate professor of mechanical engineering at the University of Houston.

The annual award was created by the Applied Mechanics Division of ASME in 1998, and recognizes special achievements in applied mechanics for researchers under the age of 40.

The award will be presented to Sharma at the Applied Mechanics Division banquet, a part of the ASME Congress, in November.

Sharma was advised by Professor Abhijit Dasgupta. His thesis was titled, "Micro-Structural Modeling of Cyclic Creep Damage in Tin-Lead Eutectic Solder." His areas of focus are nanoelectronics and nanostructures, quantum dots, self-assembly, composites, and multifunctional materials.

Sharma's honors and awards include the Young Investigators Award from Office of Naval Research and the Texas Space Grants Consortium New Investigators Program Award. He is a member of the editorial board of the Journal of Computational and Theoretical Nanoscience.

To visit Sharma's hompage, please click here.

February 4, 2009

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

2020 Dean's Doctoral Student Research Awards

Mohammad Hafezi Wins 2020 Simons Foundation Investigator Award

Legacy through Impact: Dr. Darryll J. Pines

UMD Team Takes a Top Spot in NASA RASC-AL Design Competition

Rapidly evolving ‘smart marble’ sensors hold promise for monitoring pharmaceutical industry bioreactors and beyond

Assistant Professor Cheng Gong Wins IUPAP Young Scientist Award

Maryland-led, Multi-institutional Research Team Receives $10M to Transform Shellfish Farming with Smart Technology

GAMMA Research Group is Developing Novel COVID-19 Prevention Robots

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar