Gligor, Ott Win DoD MURI Awards

Gligor, Ott Win DoD MURI Awards

Gligor, Ott Win DoD MURI Awards

Clark School faculty have been awarded two Multi-disciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI) awards from the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) and are participating in three others as subcontractors.

Electrical and computer engineering (ECE) professors Virgil Gligor and Edward Ott each received awards—Gligor for the project "Designing Reliable and Secure Tactical MANETs" (with ECE's John Baras); and Ott for "Exploiting Nonlinear Dynamics for Novel Sensor Networks" (along with ECE's P.S. Krishnaprasad, Thomas E. Murphy, and Tom Antonsen; and John Rodgers and Daniel Lathrop from the Institute for Research in Engineering and Applied Physics).

The University of Maryland is listed as a subcontractor on three other projects awarded MURIs.

The awards are among 36 announced by the DoD totaling $19.4 million in fiscal 2007 and $207 million over five years.

The awards are subject to the successful completion of negotiations between the academic institutions and DoD research offices that will make the awards including the Army Research Office, the Office of Naval Research and the Air Force Office of Scientific Research.

The MURI program supports multi-disciplinary research in areas of DoD relevance that intersect more than one traditional science and engineering discipline. A MURI effort typically involves a team of researchers with expertise in a variety of disciplines in order to accelerate both research progress and transition of research results to application.

By supporting multi-disciplinary teams, the MURI program complements other DoD basic research programs that support traditional, single-investigator university research. Typically, MURI awards are larger and longer in duration than traditional awards.

The awards are for up to five years—a three-year base period with a two-year option contingent upon availability of appropriations and satisfactory research progress.

The list of projects selected for fiscal 2007 funding can be viewed at:

March 8, 2007

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

Professor Pecht Visits the World’s Largest E-Waste Recycling Facility

UMD Online Engineering Graduate Program Ranks 18th Nationally

Duncan Named 2020 CMBE Rising Star

Fisher to Receive 2020 Society for Biomaterials Award

New International Fire Safety Consortium Launched to Address Most Urgent Global Challenges

NCC-PDI, MedTech Innovator Accepting Pitches for 2020 Competition

2019 Research Wrap-up: MSE at UMD Ranked 18th among U.S. Universities by Nature

'Super' Simulations Offer Fresh Insight Into Serotonin Receptors

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar