Bipartisan support in Congress for Clark School-led Mid-Atlantic Semiconductor Collaborative

Bipartisan support in Congress for Clark School-led Mid-Atlantic Semiconductor Collaborative

Bipartisan support in Congress for Clark School-led Mid-Atlantic Semiconductor Collaborative

A bipartisan group of more than 20 congressional colleagues has written to U.S. Secretary of Defense Lloyd Austin in support of the University of Maryland-led Mid-Atlantic Semiconductor Collaborative (MASC) proposal to contribute to the Department of Defense’s (DoD) Microelectronic Commons initiative.

“We write in strong support of the Mid-Atlantic Semiconductor Collaborative (MASC) proposal, led by the University of Maryland, College Park and Booz Allen Hamilton, in response to the Department of Defense (DoD) Microelectronic Commons solicitation,” the letter reads in part. “This collaboration includes some of the leading experts in microelectronics development and manufacturing and is uniquely positioned to advance microelectronics technologies in fields critical to the DoD.”

At UMD the effort is spearheaded by Professor Ankur Srivastava (ECE/ISR), director of the Institute for Systems Research. As the principal investigator, Srivastava and his ISR staff have led the MASC proposal process. The work focuses on pursuing potential collaborators, then working with them both within and outside the University of Maryland.

Srivastava’s efforts have been bolstered by the full support and encouragement of Samuel Graham, dean of the A. James Clark School of Engineering, along with the key insights and work of the other members of the UMD team, Professor Pamela Abshire (ECE/ISR) and Professor Abhijit Dasgupta (ME/CALCE).

The Microelectronics Commons, which DoD is in the process of implementing, will stand up a national network to bolster U.S. production and supply chains for microchips and semiconductors needed for emerging technologies that will be critical to our national security, such as quantum computing and 6G telecommunications.

It is funded through the Creating Helpful Incentives to Produce Semiconductors (CHIPS) for America Defense Fund, which was established through the CHIPS and Science Act.

Signatories include Senators Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Bob Casey (D-PA), Chris Coons (D-DE), John Fetterman (D-PA), Thom Tills (R-NC), and Mark Warner (D-VA), as well as Representatives Steny H. Hoyer (MD-05), Dutch Ruppersberger (MD-02), Gerry Connolly (VA-11), Dwight Evans (PA-03), Valerie Foushee (NC-04), Glenn Ivey (MD-04), Summer Lee (PA-12), Kweisi Mfume (MD-07), Jamie Raskin (MD-08), John Sarbanes (MD-03), Glenn Thompson (PA-15), and David Trone (MD-06).

For more information

Read a copy of the letter to Secretary of Defense Lloyd Austin on Rep. Hoyer’s website here.

Sen. Chris Van Hollen has a press release about the effort here.

Related Articles:
Srivastava is a co-general chair of 2024 IEEE HOST Symposium
Srivastava, Qu part of Department of Defense 'SHIP' Project hardware security team
Alumnus Domenic Forte is PECASE recipient

May 3, 2023

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

Ph.D. Student Receives Best Paper Award at VFS 80th Annual Forum

Maryland Engineering: Top 10 Among Public Graduate Programs, Six Years Running

Registration Open for UMD/NFPA Fire & Life Safety Ecosystem Symposium

Forty years of MEMS research at the Hilton Head Workshop

Teaching Students Specialized Skills for Success

Boyce Highlights Promise of Soft Composites

Maryland Engineering to Highlight Educational Advances at the 2024 ASEE Annual Conference

UMD Roundtable Weighs Lessons Learned From Key Bridge Collapse

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar