UMD Bioengineering #1 in CMBE Young Innovator Awards

UMD Bioengineering #1 in CMBE Young Innovator Awards

UMD Bioengineering #1 in CMBE Young Innovator Awards

University of Maryland Fischell Department of Bioengineering Assistant Professors Gregg Duncan and Katharina Maisel were named 2022 Young Innovators by Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering (CMBE), a journal of the Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES). The two early-career faculty were honored last week at the Biomedical Engineering Society annual meeting in San Antonio, Texas, alongside fellow award recipients. 

With Duncan’s and Maisel’s awards, the University of Maryland is now the #1 all-time leader in CMBE Young Innovators. 

Duncan and Maisel were recognized for their respective contributions to drug delivery research. Their corresponding papers were published in Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering earlier this year.

Duncan leads the Respiratory NanoBioengineering (RnB) Lab, where researchers engineer biological soft matter and nanomaterials in order to understand biological processes and develop new therapies, with an emphasis on pulmonary disease applications.

Dr. Maisel receives her CMBE Young Innovator Award.Maisel leads the Mucosal Associated Immune System Engineering and Lymphatics Lab, in which researchers use in vitro modeling, nanotechnology, and immunoengineering approaches to study and develop treatments for diseases at mucosal surfaces, such as inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), allergies, and asthma.

Duncan's CMBE paper is titled "High-Density Branched PEGylation for Nanoparticle Drug Delivery." Maisel's CMBE paper is titled "Generating an in vivo gut model with physiologically relevant biophysical mucus properties."


Related Articles:
Maisel to Investigate Little-Known Organ in the Body
Dropping an anchor for better GI tract disease treatment
Clearing the Airways
Alumnus David A. Bader to be Inducted into Clark School Innovation Hall of Fame
Goldberg and Woehl Receive UMD Teaching & Learning Grant Awards
Maryland Engineering Recognizes Undergraduate Excellence
Jewell Named Controlled Release Society Fellow
Nine Maryland Engineers Recognized as Being "One in 1,000"
Duncan Named BMES 2021 Rita Schaffer Young Investigator Award Honoree
Laurence Named AIAA Associate Fellow

October 21, 2022

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

Three UMD Faculty Elected to National Academy of Engineering

New UMD Center to Focus on Railway Cybersecurity and Safety

Microtransit Is Convenient, But Does It Benefit the Environment?

Discovering a digital biomarker for post-stroke cognitive problems

Big Ten Network spotlights Maryland Engineering

UMD’s DeVoe Pioneers New Approach to Liposome Production

Maryland Engineers Graham, Nau, Zhao elected Fellows of AAAS

Prosthetics: A Better Fit

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar