Khaligh Receives 2022 IEEE PELS Vehicle and Transportation Systems Achievement Award

Khaligh Receives 2022 IEEE PELS Vehicle and Transportation Systems Achievement Award

Khaligh Receives 2022 IEEE PELS Vehicle and Transportation Systems Achievement Award

Professor Alireza Khaligh (ECE/ISR) received the 2022 Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Power Electronic Society (PELS) Vehicle and Transportation Systems Achievement Award. He was cited for contributions to the “Advancement of power electronics for electrified transportation systems including electric vehicles and more electric aircraft.” The award was presented at the IEEE Transportation Electrification Conference and Expo (IEEE ITEC) that took place in Anaheim, Calif.

The annual IEEE PELS Vehicle and Transportation Systems Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have contributed outstanding technical research towards the advancement of power electronics in-vehicle and transportation systems. The criteria used to select winners includes the quality of technical achievement and contribution to the field, advancement of the technology, sustained impact on the relevant technical community and the profession, the benefit to society and the quality of the nomination.

Khaligh holds dual appointments in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) and the Institute for Systems Research (ISR). He is the Director of the Maryland Power Electronics Laboratory (MPEL), and his research interests include modeling, analysis, design and control of power electronic converters for transportation electrification, renewable energy and wearable electronics.

Khaligh has received numerous awards and recognitions for his work. In recent years, these include the 2020 Nagamori Award from the Nagamori Foundation, the 2019 Outstanding Systems Engineering Faculty Award from the UMD Institute of Systems Research, the 2019 Fellow of Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) in London, the 2019-2020 IEEE Industry Applications Society (IAS) Prominent Lecturer, the 2018 Jimmy Lin Award for Innovation from the department, the 2017 University of Maryland Invention of the Year Award and  2018-2019 IEEE Vehicular Technology Society (VTS) Distinguished Speaker.

Related Articles:
Ott Elected to National Academy of Sciences
Daniels Receives NSF CAREER Award
Professor Espy-Wilson Named IEEE Fellow
Min Wu Elected President of IEEE Signal Processing Society
UMD GAMMA Group Awarded Best Paper and an Honorable Mention at IEEE VR 2021
Jacob, Qu Named IEEE Fellows
Clark School Faculty Receive CAREER Awards
Liu Awarded 2016 IEEE Kirchmayer Graduate Teaching Award
NSF RINGS: Harnessing the Complexity of Modern Electromagnetic Environments for Resilient Wireless Communications
Maryland Engineering Collaborates on Three MURIs

June 24, 2022

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

Undergrads and research experiences: Win! Win! Win!

Kiger Named Distinguished Scholar-Teacher

NSF Awards Grant to Support Supply Chain Security Research

New Microsoft/Maryland Robotics Center partnership to enhance diversity and innovation

Balachandran Receives Robert H. Scanlan Medal

UMD Team Wins Inaugural NIST UAS 3.1: FastFind Challenge

Alum Shinkyu Park wins 2022 O. Hugo Schuck Award

New Energy-Efficient Switches to Aid Quantum Processing and Storage

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar