Innovation Hall of Fame Moves, Inducts New Members

Innovation Hall of Fame Moves, Inducts New Members

Innovation Hall of Fame Moves, Inducts New Members

As the Clark School opened the Innovation Hall of Fame in its new Jeong H. Kim Building home on September 19, two new members joined its ranks for their work on satellite surveillance systems during the Cold War–Edward A. Miller, '50 mechanical engineering, and James W. Plummer, M.S. '53 electrical engineering.

Mr. Miller attended the ceremony and witnessed the unveiling of the plaque he shares with Plummer in the north corridor of the Kim Building. Pres. C.D. Mote, Jr., presented Mr. Miller with a medallion commemorating the achievement.

Several past Innovation Hall of Fame inductees were in attendance and also received medallions: Frederick Billig (inducted in 1997); Nathan Bluzer (1995); Romald Bowles (1989); Prof. Hung "Jimmy" Lin (1990); Prof. Reinhard Radermacher (2001); Lloyd Robeson (2003); and C. Frank Wheatley (1999).

Clark School Dean Nariman Farvardin, former dean George Dieter and Clark School benefactor Marilyn Berman Pollans also took part in the ceremony. Dr. Dieter chairs the selection committee for the Hall of Fame. Dr. Berman Pollans, a former associate dean of the Clark School, is the widow of Stanford Berman, who conceived and helped to fund the creation of the Hall of Fame.

Earlier this year, Mr. Miller and Mr. Plummer received the Draper Prize from the National Academy of Engineering.

Pictures of this year's Innovation Hall of Fame opening and induction ceremony are available online.

September 19, 2005

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

Liangbing Hu’s HighT-Tech Wins 2021 Spinoff Prize

UMD Training Reactor Hits 5K Operations

UMD Wins $5M Phase 2 NSF Convergence Accelerator Award

Three Engineers Among 2021-2022 Distinguished Scholar-Teachers

Convocation to Shine Spotlight on Faculty, Staff Accomplishments

Balachandran Honored with ASME’s Den Hartog, Lyapunov Awards

Everitt, Gaitan Granted 2020-2021 Fischell Fellowship

NASA’s ASRS an Effective Tool for Improving Unmanned Aviation Safety

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar