Oran Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Oran Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Oran Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Elaine Oran, Glenn L. Martin Institute professor of engineering at the A. James Clark School of Engineering, is one of two University of Maryland (UMD) faculty members elected to the 2018 class of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation’s oldest and most reputable honorary societies. Oran and David C. Driskell, UMD Distinguished University Professor emeritus, are among 213 new members of the academy being recognized for their accomplishments as scholars, scientists, writers, artists, and civic and philanthropic leaders.

Oran is widely recognized for her contributions to the advancement of science and engineering. She pioneered computational technology for the solution of complex reactive flow problems, unifying concepts from science, mathematics, engineering, and computer science in a new methodology. Oran has received many awards and honors, including the Fluid Dynamics Prize of the American Physical Society, the Zeldovich Gold Medal of the Combustion Institute, and the Society of Women Engineers Achievement Award. In addition, Oran is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, which is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. She has published extensively in journals, and her research has garnered significant media coverage.

Oran and Driskell join other distinguished notables in the 2018 class, including Supreme Court Justice Sonia M. Sotomayor, 44th President of the United States Barack H. Obama, author Ta-Nehisi Coates, philanthropist and entrepreneur Laurene Powell Jobs, and actor Tom Hanks. Driskell and Oran’s election into the academy brings the total number of UMD faculty who are members of the academy to 56.

“Membership in the academy is not only an honor, but also an opportunity and a responsibility,” said Jonathan Fanton, president of the American Academy. “Members can be inspired and engaged by connecting with one another and through academy projects dedicated to the common good. The intellect, creativity, and commitment of the 2018 class will enrich the work of the academy and the world in which we live.”

Founded in 1780, the academy honors exceptional scholars, leaders, artists, and innovators and engages them in sharing knowledge and addressing challenges facing the world. The new class will be inducted at a ceremony in October 2018 in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and join the Academy members who came before them, including Benjamin Franklin (elected 1781) and Alexander Hamilton (1791) in the eighteenth century; Ralph Waldo Emerson (1864), Maria Mitchell (1848), and Charles Darwin (1874) in the nineteenth; and Albert Einstein (1924), Robert Frost (1931), Margaret Mead (1948), Milton Friedman (1959), and Martin Luther King, Jr. (1966) in the twentieth.

The full list of the newly elected members is available at www.amacad.org/members.

Related Articles:
Feathers Not Included
Hacking Tomorrow's Tech World
UMD Alumna Preserves American Icons
Three UMD Students Receive Zonta International Amelia Earhart Fellowships

April 18, 2018

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

Charting a Course Toward Quantum Simulations of Nuclear Physics

Clark School Engineers 3D Print Protective Face Shields

2020 Energy Seed Grants Awarded

Researchers Work to Develop Custom Conformal N95 Masks

Researchers Aim to Sterilize N95 Masks for Reuse

In Race With Virus, Researchers Speed Development of Medical Equipment

GAMMA Group's Research on Emotional Modeling and Social Robotics Featured in Forbes

Srivastava wins NSF funding for integrated circuit fabrication security

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar